500 Miles

Yesterday I took my beloved Ginger for a ride. A 504 mile ride, to be precise, because I had an excuse (work) to go to Cedar City for a day.

In case you’ve forgotten what Ginger looks like, here she is.

2006 Victory Kingpin

Mmmmm. Shiny.

Anyway…where was I? Let me back up for a minute. Last year, Sean and I took our bikes to California to visit his dad for his birthday. It’s a 730-ish mile trip, each way. And in one day, we covered 630 miles. And once we finally pried ourselves off the saddles at the end of that day, we swore up and down that we’d never, ever, ever do that again.

Well…during the course of the month of September, I drove nearly 4,000 miles for my job. I was getting quite sick of the inside of my truck, but because of the amount of crap I have to haul around, I usually can’t take my motorcycle anywhere. My presence in Cedar City, however, required much less luggage than is usually necessary, and since fall is the best time of year for a bike ride, I decided to take Ginger. (Also, the gas mileage on a motorcycle is way better than on a truck.)

I will admit it. I was seduced by the Chrome Side. The Dark Side ain’t got nothin’ on the Chrome Side, by the by. I’d much rather have a shiny motorcycle than be able to fling people across the room with the Force. All vows of “never, ever, ever” were quickly forgotten. But by the end of Thursday, 504 miles later, I was starting to remember why I said them in the first place!

Long story short…I’m glad I took Ginger because crappy weather and snow will be here before I know it, and I think it’s a good thing to remind myself occasionally of my oh-so-mortal limitations. Like the need for water, and rest, and sunscreen. And Chapstick with sunscreen.

If there must be some kind of lesson to the story, though, it’s this: the optimal ride length is 250-350 miles in a day. 500 is doable but not the most fun thing ever. 630 is brutal. And even though my uncle Lari claims he once rode over 1600 miles in a 24 hour period, I sure as hell wouldn’t want to be a part of that.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 467 other followers

  • History

  • Books

    Currently Reading

    About Time: Cosmology and Culture at the Twilight of the Big Bang (Adam Frank)

    Reflections (Walter Benjamin)

    The Second Sex (Simone de Beauvoir)

    Recently Read

    Life of Pi

    The Memory Keeper's Daughter

    Joseph Anton (Salman Rushdie)

    Rape on Trial (Lisa Cuklanz)

    Atlas of Unknowns (Tania James)

    Dog Sense (John Bradshaw)

    Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (Seth Grahame-Smith)

    The Space Between Us (Thrity Umrigar)

    A Thousand Splendid Suns (Khaled Hosseini)

    The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay (Suzanne Collins)

    The Chosen (Chaim Potok)

    The Help (Kathryn Stockett)

    Devil in the White City (Erik Larson)

  • Bookshelf

