Mom

I’ve spent the better part of today in a hospital with my Mama while she underwent surgery. (She’s doing well now.)

But it’s got me to thinking of how much my mom has meant to me throughout my life. Most people like or at least tolerate their mothers, but to me Mom is a superhero, a mentor, a best friend, a riding buddy, and a parent on top of all of it.



Reasons My Mom is Awesome

  1. Once when I was probably seven or eight, Mama put a formal dinner on the table…at least, that’s what we thought it was. There was a big turkey platter, fancy gravy boats, covered serving dishes, the whole nine yards. My three siblings and I sat down, completely agog, and then when we took the lid off the turkey platter, it wasn’t a turkey at all! It was ice cream. The gravy boats were full of chocolate and caramel sauce. The salt and pepper shakers had chocolate and rainbow sprinkles in them. And we all stuffed ourselves on ice cream for dinner. And every single one of us still remembers that dinner!
  2. When I was in high school, my mom worked as a special education aide in the same school that I attended. There was a math test that I wasn’t ready for (Algebra II, if I recall correctly). Since I was a good student (no, really!), Mama excused me from class and took me out for breakfast and coffee instead.
  3. Mom loves Christmas. Growing up, we didn’t have a lot of money to spend of gifts or anything fancy, so Mom gave my siblings and I a handmade tree ornament representing what the past year had been to us. My favorite: a heart-shaped box that opens up and has little paintings of things I love inside it. Every year, that is the gift I looked forward to opening the most, and those are the gifts that I still have with me. Now that I have my own house, they are the first ornaments to go on my own Christmas tree each year.
  4. My parents had a pretty unpleasant divorce, which dragged on from when I was about 12 and was finalized when I was 15. Throughout the entire thing, Mom refused to badmouth my dad in front of all of us. Once it was over, she and I went to the jewelry department in Filene’s and picked out a “D-Day” ring – a symbol of her courage and strength in making the right decision for her children and herself. To this day, I admire my mom for making that difficult change.
  5. Mama taught me how to ride a motorcycle. Actually, she has taught most of my siblings how to ride as well. Family road trips are an important part of our shared history; her dad (my grandfather) and his brothers rode, my aunts and uncles and cousins ride, my siblings and I ride, and my husband and I ride. (This picture is from Mom’s birthday ride last month: my bike, her bike, my little brother & his bike, and my husband’s bike all the way in the back.)

Of course, there are plenty of other reasons that my mom is awesome, but I just wanted to say how grateful I am that she’s still in my life, and still teaching me about it. Love you, Mama!


Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 467 other followers

  • History

  • Books

    Currently Reading

    About Time: Cosmology and Culture at the Twilight of the Big Bang (Adam Frank)

    Reflections (Walter Benjamin)

    The Second Sex (Simone de Beauvoir)

    Recently Read

    Life of Pi

    The Memory Keeper's Daughter

    Joseph Anton (Salman Rushdie)

    Rape on Trial (Lisa Cuklanz)

    Atlas of Unknowns (Tania James)

    Dog Sense (John Bradshaw)

    Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (Seth Grahame-Smith)

    The Space Between Us (Thrity Umrigar)

    A Thousand Splendid Suns (Khaled Hosseini)

    The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay (Suzanne Collins)

    The Chosen (Chaim Potok)

    The Help (Kathryn Stockett)

    Devil in the White City (Erik Larson)

  • Bookshelf

