Math

You know what cracks me up? When I’m watching Top Gear UK and one of the presenters says, “I was running the maths” instead of “I was doing the math.” It’s the simple things in life, you know?

Anyway, this has absolutely nothing to do with math or maths. Well, beyond the basic math of cooking.

What do you get when you add:

4 sticks of butter…

6 cups of sugar…

a bunch of flour…

eggs…

buttermilk…

cocoa powder…

more butter…

…and four children under the age of ten?

A cookie-cake-frosting-pickle (don’t ask) MESS with the kids in the family.

But a fun one.

“Look! Take my picture! I have a knife covered with frosting! But I’m already too sugared-up to hold still, so your picture is going to be blurry!”


Did you know that frosting cookies is really serious business? Just look at the concentration. I’m lucky if I can focus that well on anything, let alone cookies!


We actually did use math while we were making these cookies. When I told this young lady that we only had a teaspoon (because the tablespoon was already dirty and I didn’t feel like washing it), but we needed two tablespoons worth of sugar, she did the conversion to figure it out. And then she did the division to figure out how to evenly split the cookies between the kids so they could frost them. So I feel slightly less guilty about how much sugar I fed them while they were at my house.

Granted, some of the munchkins were too busy eating the frosting off their fingers to worry much about getting it onto the cookies.

Aaaand, one in particular didn’t care much about any of that as long as he got a fistful of orange sticky goop to smear on the counter. I’m sure it was a fun and educational experience for him too.

And then there’s my sweetheart, who is thoroughly enjoying his little buddy’s company. And the company of the second-youngest child whose head is in the bottom of the picture as he attempts a photo-bump. Good thing he’s still short.

Awwww. That look just melts me. It also helps that before all the little ones came over, Sean was sweeping the floor and cleaning the toilet. The man’s a saint, I tell you.

Men: if you want to know how to melt your women, just pick up a toilet brush or a mop and volunteer to clean every weekend. It’ll work.

Anyway…the end results: Halloween-themed frosted cookies, cake pops, and a jar of pickles. (Don’t ask.) And it was good fun. Thanks, Steph and Lindsey, for letting us borrow your kids today!

Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Diane Tadehara

     /  October 23, 2011

    I have always said, “There is nothing sexier than a man doing dishes or changing diapers.” Sweeping and mopping count, too.

    Reply
  2. Shauna

     /  October 28, 2011

    Clean Laundry was my aphrodesiac of choice. Now, it’s the goofy noises, faces, and baby talk to entertain our son. If Joe can get him giggling, I’m pretty much a puddle. šŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. Shauna

     /  October 28, 2011

    oh and btw, Sean’s face in that picture pretty much sums it all up. ‘pretty please? see, see how cute and wonderful this is? see how good I am with kids? see how much I love you? let’s make one of our own!!’

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 467 other followers

  • History

  • Books

    Currently Reading

    About Time: Cosmology and Culture at the Twilight of the Big Bang (Adam Frank)

    Reflections (Walter Benjamin)

    The Second Sex (Simone de Beauvoir)

    Recently Read

    Life of Pi

    The Memory Keeper's Daughter

    Joseph Anton (Salman Rushdie)

    Rape on Trial (Lisa Cuklanz)

    Atlas of Unknowns (Tania James)

    Dog Sense (John Bradshaw)

    Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (Seth Grahame-Smith)

    The Space Between Us (Thrity Umrigar)

    A Thousand Splendid Suns (Khaled Hosseini)

    The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay (Suzanne Collins)

    The Chosen (Chaim Potok)

    The Help (Kathryn Stockett)

    Devil in the White City (Erik Larson)

  • Bookshelf

