The Best Food Group Ever

The best food group ever is: chocolate. Duh. You can drink it, you can bake with it, you can have it as an appetizer or an entree if you’re creative enough. I’m a firm believe that chocolate really should get its own food group designation.

Are you paying attention, USDA? This deserves its own food group. Forget that new plate with 50% veggies, and bring on the chocolate. It will usher in a new era of happiness and world peace.

Chocolate was the star of my weekend.

Saturday night was a Christmas dinner party with a few friends, and we had…

Olive tapenade and toast points
Caesar salad w/yummy homemade croutons
Prime rib and a red wine sauce
Mashed potatoes
Peppermint meringues
Wassail
(And something else, to be discussed in a moment)

My beloved sometimes seems baffled by my willingness to spend a full 18 hours in the kitchen getting ready for one meal, but as far as I’m concerned, food is about love just as much as Christmas should be about love. To my cheesy brain, making homemade croutons for salad is like telling my family and friends, “I love you so much, I don’t want you to have to eat preservative-stuffed, underseasoned, dried-out bits of stale bread. I want you to eat preservative-free, perfectly seasoned, just crispy enough bits of freshly crunchified bread!”

And if croutons say all that, imagine what these babies are saying!

Mmmm…chocolate mousse. Chocolate mousse has a special place in my memory. The first time I can remember trying it was with my best friend Shauna. We were in high school, driving around a coastal town in Massachusetts and we stopped at a sandwich shop for lunch. They had some of the most delicious chocolate mousse ever! We ate it at a picnic table outside the restaurant, with the sound of traffic whizzing by behind us and the sunshine on our backs. Every time we went back after that, there was no mousse. It must have been a one-time special or something. So now, when I make chocolate mousse, I make it with the memories of friendship and with love for my guests. Good food, for me, is synonymous with caring.

The second part of my chocolate weekend was this:

It’s a rather lopsided chocolate mousse cake topped with whipped cream. Cake, mousse, more cake, more mousse, and whipped cream on top of it all.

So in sum, good food, cooking, love, friendship, and memory are all intertwined for me. And I love it when the common element is chocolate!

Love, peace, and chocolate,
Sumiko

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 467 other followers

  • History

  • Books

    Currently Reading

    About Time: Cosmology and Culture at the Twilight of the Big Bang (Adam Frank)

    Reflections (Walter Benjamin)

    The Second Sex (Simone de Beauvoir)

    Recently Read

    Life of Pi

    The Memory Keeper's Daughter

    Joseph Anton (Salman Rushdie)

    Rape on Trial (Lisa Cuklanz)

    Atlas of Unknowns (Tania James)

    Dog Sense (John Bradshaw)

    Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (Seth Grahame-Smith)

    The Space Between Us (Thrity Umrigar)

    A Thousand Splendid Suns (Khaled Hosseini)

    The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay (Suzanne Collins)

    The Chosen (Chaim Potok)

    The Help (Kathryn Stockett)

    Devil in the White City (Erik Larson)

  • Bookshelf

