Everything a Girl Could Want

I’m willing to admit that I have a few odd pet peeves. I consider it a point of pride in my self-restraint that I’ve only started blogging about one of them: SINKS.

Bathroom sinks are often so poorly thought out that a person can’t even wash her hands without bonking the sides of the sink or having water spray all over the place. And is that what we want in our public spaces? Heck no!

Last week, I went to Arizona for work, and while I was there, I encountered a welcome change to this epidemic of ill-planned ablutionary facilities. (I so rarely get to use “ablution” in a sentence. I couldn’t resist. Sorry.)

B.e.a.u.t.i.f.u.l.

Look at the bowl! It’s deep enough for adults to use!
And the faucet! Stylish and easy to use with the back of your hand or your thumb, it dispenses water in a lovely arc, not too close to the back of the sink and not so forcefully that it sprays all over the place and makes it look like I’ve had an unfortunate accident.
And the counter! All once piece…so deliciously easy to keep clean.

I found this sink in a restaurant restroom, and had to explain to the three other women waiting in line that I occasionally blog about sinks in public locations and that’s why I had my cell phone camera out in the bathroom.

My explanation did not stop them all from looking at me askance. (I also rarely get a chance to use “askance” in a sentence. Sorry again!) Apparently cell phone cameras are not welcome in restaurant bathrooms in the lovely state of Arizona.

Pity, ’cause they’ve got some good sinks!

Love, peace, and alarming strangers in restrooms,
Sumiko

 

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 467 other followers

  • History

  • Books

    Currently Reading

    About Time: Cosmology and Culture at the Twilight of the Big Bang (Adam Frank)

    Reflections (Walter Benjamin)

    The Second Sex (Simone de Beauvoir)

    Recently Read

    Life of Pi

    The Memory Keeper's Daughter

    Joseph Anton (Salman Rushdie)

    Rape on Trial (Lisa Cuklanz)

    Atlas of Unknowns (Tania James)

    Dog Sense (John Bradshaw)

    Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (Seth Grahame-Smith)

    The Space Between Us (Thrity Umrigar)

    A Thousand Splendid Suns (Khaled Hosseini)

    The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay (Suzanne Collins)

    The Chosen (Chaim Potok)

    The Help (Kathryn Stockett)

    Devil in the White City (Erik Larson)

  • Bookshelf

