Comfort Food

Happy St. Patrick’s Day! To celebrate, I am staying at home and watching movies with my sweet pea. I know, I know. My life is pretty darn exciting. Also, I will be eating comfort food for dinner.

Everyone’s got their favorite comfort food. This is mine:

A bowl of sticky rice with pickled ginger, and a pot of green tea. Oh yeah! There’s something wonderful about the simplicity of the ingredients and the steam wafting off the rice. The beautiful gingery-vinegar bite on the slightly sweet rice, and the clear, crisp taste of properly brewed sencha tea feels so very clean and satisfying to me.

The thing that I love about comfort foods is that they are a personal history lesson. My mom’s side of the family is Japanese, hence the sticky rice and pickled ginger. I’ve been eating that since…well, since I was old enough to eat. My grandmother, who is English and Scottish, gave me the teapot (Old Willow pattern if you’re a china nerd like me). I have been drinking tea…well, since I was old enough to walk to Grandma’s house for tea and toast in the afternoon.

Comfort foods are most definitely less about the foods themselves, and more about connecting with your own past. So what’s your poison? Macaroni and cheese? Mashed potatoes and gravy? Ham fried rice? Spaghetti and meat sauce?

Peace, love, and food that means something,
Sumiko

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 467 other followers

  • History

  • Books

    Currently Reading

    About Time: Cosmology and Culture at the Twilight of the Big Bang (Adam Frank)

    Reflections (Walter Benjamin)

    The Second Sex (Simone de Beauvoir)

    Recently Read

    Life of Pi

    The Memory Keeper's Daughter

    Joseph Anton (Salman Rushdie)

    Rape on Trial (Lisa Cuklanz)

    Atlas of Unknowns (Tania James)

    Dog Sense (John Bradshaw)

    Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (Seth Grahame-Smith)

    The Space Between Us (Thrity Umrigar)

    A Thousand Splendid Suns (Khaled Hosseini)

    The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay (Suzanne Collins)

    The Chosen (Chaim Potok)

    The Help (Kathryn Stockett)

    Devil in the White City (Erik Larson)

  • Bookshelf

