How to Get Your Girlfriend/Wife/Significant Other to Let You Buy a Motorcycle

How do you get your girlfriend/wife/significant other to let you buy a motorcycle?

1. Get them hooked on bikes.

2. Buy a bike.

It’s pretty much that simple. But I feel obliged to point out, if you have to explain to your beloved WHY you are so in love with these fantastic machines, they probably aren’t ever really going to understand it. However, if you’re the persistent sort, you can always try!

There are classes where you can learn to ride a motorcycle in a safe environment with certified instructors. Harley-Davidson has a course like this available at dealerships all over the country. Check our your local dealership to see if they offer it. The Motorcycle Safety Foundation also has a class (this is the one I took when I wanted to get my endorsement). You can check here to find a course near you.

Incidentally, I realize that the title of this post doesn’t account for the women whose boyfriends/husbands/significant others are reluctant to see their sweeties in the saddle. That’s because I haven’t talked to any of them. When my husband and I go out riding, he is often congratulated by other guys on his success in “talking me into” riding a bike of my own. And then I get to clarify that I was the first rider, that my whole family rides, and that I got him into it. But the bottom line it, it works both ways.

This isn’t to say that there aren’t legitimate reasons for a loved one to worry about you riding a motorcycle. It is a hazardous and sometimes expensive addiction. Here are some of my responses to the usual worries.

1. It’s dangerous. That is true. And if you live in an urban area, it can be even more hazardous. If this is a serious point of contention, make a compromise. You get a bike, but only ride it at certain times of day (not rush hour) or in certain areas (back roads, not busy freeways). And make sure you have good insurance, for pete’s sake. This isn’t the time to be a cheapskate.

2. It’s expensive. Again, no argument here. It’s probably smart to have some cash set aside for repairs, particularly if you’re purchasing a used bike. The first two bikes I owned (a Kawasaki Vulcan 500 and a Harley-Davidson 883 Low), I spent at least $1600 on each during a 12 month period for maintenance and repairs. My current bike (a 2006 Victory Kingpin) isn’t a cheap ride either. If I were to take it to the dealership rather than doing my own oil changes, they would be upwards of $125 a pop!

3. They are scary. Motorcycles themselves aren’t really scary, and familiarity breeds comfort in this case. The more time you spend around bikes, the more manageable and fun they seem. Take your naysayer to a dealer, explain how the drivetrain works, how the controls work, how the physics of motorcycles work, and just spend some time getting used to the machines themselves.

4. Bikers are scary. This one I do have to object to. Most bikers are very nice people. The criminal element of motorcycledom a la Hollywood is a very, very small slice of the pie here. There are undoubtedly some bikers who are scary and possibly mean people, but then again, there are corporate stooges who are just as scary and mean. Think about it. There are more motorcycle clubs and foundations and rides dedicated to raising money for charities, gathering toys for kids at Christmastime, and even supporting children who are victims of child abuse.

Not everyone will love motorcycles, or even like them. But I do, gosh dang it. And I’m doing my damndest to convince the rest of the world!

Peace, love, and finally some warm weather,
Sumiko

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Mom

     /  March 22, 2012

    And it’s important to point out that most of the people that ride Harley’s now did NOT start out with one. Just for your information – I loved teaching my kids how to ride. It is one of my favorite feathers in my ‘Mom’ hat.
    Peace, Love, and Keeping the rubber side down.
    Mom

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 467 other followers

  • History

  • Books

    Currently Reading

    About Time: Cosmology and Culture at the Twilight of the Big Bang (Adam Frank)

    Reflections (Walter Benjamin)

    The Second Sex (Simone de Beauvoir)

    Recently Read

    Life of Pi

    The Memory Keeper's Daughter

    Joseph Anton (Salman Rushdie)

    Rape on Trial (Lisa Cuklanz)

    Atlas of Unknowns (Tania James)

    Dog Sense (John Bradshaw)

    Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (Seth Grahame-Smith)

    The Space Between Us (Thrity Umrigar)

    A Thousand Splendid Suns (Khaled Hosseini)

    The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay (Suzanne Collins)

    The Chosen (Chaim Potok)

    The Help (Kathryn Stockett)

    Devil in the White City (Erik Larson)

  • Bookshelf

