Hot Weather Food

It seems like summer is here this afternoon. I always have mixed feelings about summer.

  1. Jealousy: kids get summer vacations from June to August. I do not. Hence, I am very jealous.
  2. Happiness: motorcycles. Cookouts. Sunshine later into the evening.
  3. Sweat: yes, I classify “sweat” as a feeling. I’m a wimp, and I acknowledge that. Anything over 80 is just too hot.
  4. Satisfaction: watching our family attempt at a garden grow, despite my dog’s best efforts to chew on all small plants in the backyard, is very satisfying.
  5. Hungriness: usually I’m not as hungry in the summer as I am in the winter, but any excuse to cook outdoors is a good one in my book! And in the spirit of this…

Here are my top ten favorite summer foods (and drinks). They aren’t in any particular order because I’m very attached to all of these things and just can’t pick favorites like that.

#10: Anything with mint! Such as this mint limeade, which I enjoyed this afternoon.

#9: Grilled vegetables. Zucchini, summer squash, thinly sliced potatoes, corn, eggplant…whatever. If I can’t put it directly on the grill, that’s what grill baskets were invented for!

#8: Grilled pineapple. Bonus points if you lightly brush it with honey while it’s on the grill.

#7: Sun tea. For instance, this red raspberry sun tea, which I made with about a couple dozen raspberry tea bags in a two gallon container of water, set outside in the sun for at least a full day.

#6: Grilled meat. Steak, chicken, ribs, kebabs, pork chops, jalapeno bratwurst, whatever is in the freezer. It’s all good!

#5: Smoked meat. This afternoon, my sweetie and I tried out our smoker for the first time (BBQ chicken strips) and it was DELICIOUS. I’m going attempt to smoke every single food in my house. (If you took that last sentence out of context it could be very confusing…but I mean “smoke” in the sense which leaves us an edible product, not a bunch of ashes.)

#4: Iced coffee. I’m a caffeine addict. It’s pretty much inevitable. I usually make a gallon of coffee concentrate at a time with this recipe and keep it in the fridge until…well, until I drink it all. Which usually doesn’t take that long. Hehehe.

#3: Indian food. Something about the spice combinations in Indian food, plus the incredibleness of mango lassi, just screams “summer” to me. In a good way!

#2: And speaking of mangoes…mangoes! I wish I lived in a country where mangoes grew all over the place. Just for a little while! Please send me suggestions if you have lived in a place like this. I’ll bring back some mangoes for you. Unless I eat them all on the plane ride home.

#1: WATERMELON. One of which we planted in the garden yesterday, and I am looking forward to eating them more than I can possibly express!

So…what are your favorite summertime foods? Or recipes? Please share!

Love, peace and hot weather foods,
Sumiko

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 467 other followers

  • History

  • Books

    Currently Reading

    About Time: Cosmology and Culture at the Twilight of the Big Bang (Adam Frank)

    Reflections (Walter Benjamin)

    The Second Sex (Simone de Beauvoir)

    Recently Read

    Life of Pi

    The Memory Keeper's Daughter

    Joseph Anton (Salman Rushdie)

    Rape on Trial (Lisa Cuklanz)

    Atlas of Unknowns (Tania James)

    Dog Sense (John Bradshaw)

    Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (Seth Grahame-Smith)

    The Space Between Us (Thrity Umrigar)

    A Thousand Splendid Suns (Khaled Hosseini)

    The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay (Suzanne Collins)

    The Chosen (Chaim Potok)

    The Help (Kathryn Stockett)

    Devil in the White City (Erik Larson)

  • Bookshelf

