Blender Food!

When I was in high school, summer meant two things: more sleep, and food from a blender. My sister and I were obsessed with smoothies for breakfast. Anything was fair game. The orange juice that Mom was going to make for breakfast on Sunday? Oops. It was sacrificed to the blender gods. Those raspberries that were for little brother’s birthday layer cake? Oh dear…they seem to have gone missing.

I actually wrote down one of the smoothie recipes from this time period. Here it is.

1 c crushed ice
6 oz lemon yogurt
1 orange
lemon juice, to taste

I’m pretty sure all the crushed ice is why I kept getting brain freezes from drinking them, but I persisted! (I was kind of a stubborn kid.) Today, I’m still pretty stoked about smoothies in the summer, although they seem to be getting healthier as I get older. Funny how that happens. This is my new favorite recipe.

1 c soymilk (vanilla or plain, up to you)
1/2 c plain yogurt
2/3 c frozen fruit
2 tbsp ground flaxseed
2 leaves kale or a handful of spinach
1 tbsp agave nectar if you’re a fan of the sweet stuff

Some of my favorite variations for the fruit: half mango, half raspberry. All strawberries. All blueberries. Any combination of berry. Peaches. Cranberries with anything else.

The main point is that blender food is fun. Mix it up!

Love, peace and pureed fruit,
Sumiko

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Kiyomi

     /  June 19, 2012

    I still very much prefer a smoothie with that granular, icy texture, perhaps because I’m never suffered a brain freeze. Thanks for writing the recipe of old down. I’m glad to know that we used phrases like “to taste.” Thank you even more for reminding me of the joy of summer smoothies and of the deliciousness of your spinach mango smoothie in particular.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 467 other followers

  • History

  • Books

    Currently Reading

    About Time: Cosmology and Culture at the Twilight of the Big Bang (Adam Frank)

    Reflections (Walter Benjamin)

    The Second Sex (Simone de Beauvoir)

    Recently Read

    Life of Pi

    The Memory Keeper's Daughter

    Joseph Anton (Salman Rushdie)

    Rape on Trial (Lisa Cuklanz)

    Atlas of Unknowns (Tania James)

    Dog Sense (John Bradshaw)

    Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (Seth Grahame-Smith)

    The Space Between Us (Thrity Umrigar)

    A Thousand Splendid Suns (Khaled Hosseini)

    The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay (Suzanne Collins)

    The Chosen (Chaim Potok)

    The Help (Kathryn Stockett)

    Devil in the White City (Erik Larson)

  • Bookshelf

