Hold On Tight

This morning, my little brother and I were riding our motorcycles together when he laid his down. One moment, we were cruising along, just headed towards the highway, and the next moment I can see his bike falling, his body twisting, his head trying not to hit the road. I saw the mirror pop out of its frame and break on the asphalt. I saw the handlebars bend on impact.

It scared the shit out of me. You know that gut-wrenching, heart-pounding, throat-stopping, brain-fogging, all consuming¬†fear that rises in the moment between knowing something terrible has happened, and knowing that the person you love is okay? I’m still feeling it.

My brother is fine – some sore joints, a couple of cuts and a little bit of road rash. Thank goodness that the woman driving right behind him hit her brakes in time and didn’t run him over. But it made me remember how important it is to hold on tight when I’m hugging my family. It made me remember how important it is to tell them that I love them and that they are precious and irreplaceable and hilarious and sweet and occasionally a pain in the ass that I wouldn’t ever want to live without.

If anyone reading this is my family: I LOVE YOU. I’m so glad that you’re in my life. I can’t imagine a world without you in it, and I’m going to hug you for a really, really long time next time I see you in person. If any of you are my friends: I LOVE YOU. Thanks for being here for me. My life has been so blessed by your presence. And little brother, if you are reading this: I LOVE YOU SO MUCH. And I don’t even know what the word is for “I’m so relieved that you’re okay that I’m still kind of freaking out about it,” but know that’s what I’m feeling right now.

So whatever you’re doing now, whomever you’re with, look them straight in the eyes and tell them how you feel about them. Take a break from the computer to recommit to the people you’ve chosen to surround yourself with and reaffirm your love for them. Give them a hug and hold on tight. It shouldn’t take something so scary to remind us of this.

Love, peace, and much, much more love,
Sumiko

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Kiyomi

     /  June 20, 2012

    I love you, too, sister. I’m glad you were riding with him and he wasn’t headed home through the canyon when this happened.

    Reply
  2. Diane

     /  June 23, 2012

    AMEN!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 467 other followers

  • History

  • Books

    Currently Reading

    About Time: Cosmology and Culture at the Twilight of the Big Bang (Adam Frank)

    Reflections (Walter Benjamin)

    The Second Sex (Simone de Beauvoir)

    Recently Read

    Life of Pi

    The Memory Keeper's Daughter

    Joseph Anton (Salman Rushdie)

    Rape on Trial (Lisa Cuklanz)

    Atlas of Unknowns (Tania James)

    Dog Sense (John Bradshaw)

    Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (Seth Grahame-Smith)

    The Space Between Us (Thrity Umrigar)

    A Thousand Splendid Suns (Khaled Hosseini)

    The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay (Suzanne Collins)

    The Chosen (Chaim Potok)

    The Help (Kathryn Stockett)

    Devil in the White City (Erik Larson)

  • Bookshelf

