The Best Kind of Vacation Ever…Part Three

So, when last I wrote about our road trip, we were on our way to the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally. We had just left Devil’s Tower, and it was an unusually cool day for August. No complaints here! The cool temperatures meant that Mom’s motorcycle wasn’t acting up any more, and that we weren’t all wiping sweat off our faces constantly.

I wish I could have taken photos as we were riding, because the landscape in the Black Hills is freaking amazing. It’s insanely beautiful. The only photos I took were from stopping at the side of the road to check the map.

It was so quiet and peaceful here…except for the occasional rumble of motorcycles passing through.

See the little purple flowers?

The plants with all the little purple flowers were all over the place, and they cast a beautiful haze across these lush, rolling prairies that we were riding through.

Anyway, we eventually rolled into the (normally small) town of Sturgis, South Dakota, and holy cow. I have to admit I’m not much for crowds, an especially not one for big crowds when I’m on my motorcycle, but this was the town before the rally even officially started, and it was pretty impressive.

There were four rows of motorcycles parked on almost every single street in this tiny town.

There were also police brought in from all over the country, patrolling every single block and intersection, which was interesting.

Most of the streets were closed to non-motorcycle traffic. There were vendors selling everything from jewelry (I almost choked on my own tongue when I realized I’d been ogling a $5,000 necklace) to T-shirts to food to hip flasks. And the sales techniques are definitely an experience in and of themselves. Imagine walking down the strip in Las Vegas and getting those annoying little cards that say “Girls!” thrown at you…times a zillion. Oh yeah, and some of the sales-models will flash you to get your attention before making their pitch. My 17-year-old brother found that out through experience. However, since they aren’t supposed to be completely topless, this particular lady had covered her nipples with bandaids…which had more sales pitches written on them! Sheesh. That’s either desperation or dedication, or perhaps a little of both.

For my money, though, the best part (other than the people watching, and hearing the sales-models giggle over THE LAMEST pick-up lines ever) was listening to the noise and looking at some of the cool bikes.

I love the lacy metal detailing on the rear fender!

 

Red-wall tires? AWESOME.

 

 

This made me think of my friend Hannah, who is also a cowgirl through and through.

Yeah. As great as the people-watching was, the bike-watching was even better. But by the time we were ready to head out to our destination, I was more than ready to hit the road. I would be completely happy riding all day long, just stopping to stretch every couple of hours and fill up the tank. As far as I’m concerned, walking around looking at thousands of motorcycles just makes me want to get back in the saddle and go!

If you aren’t convinced yet that the best vacations ever are motorcycle road trips, Part Four will be coming soon…ish! School has started again, so I officially don’t have free time until December 7th when I hand in my final paper.

Love, peace, and thousands of rumbling engines,
Sumiko

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 467 other followers

  • History

  • Books

    Currently Reading

    About Time: Cosmology and Culture at the Twilight of the Big Bang (Adam Frank)

    Reflections (Walter Benjamin)

    The Second Sex (Simone de Beauvoir)

    Recently Read

    Life of Pi

    The Memory Keeper's Daughter

    Joseph Anton (Salman Rushdie)

    Rape on Trial (Lisa Cuklanz)

    Atlas of Unknowns (Tania James)

    Dog Sense (John Bradshaw)

    Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (Seth Grahame-Smith)

    The Space Between Us (Thrity Umrigar)

    A Thousand Splendid Suns (Khaled Hosseini)

    The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay (Suzanne Collins)

    The Chosen (Chaim Potok)

    The Help (Kathryn Stockett)

    Devil in the White City (Erik Larson)

  • Bookshelf

