Nine Things You May Not Have Known About Motorcycles

  1. Motorcycle engines starting up is one of the greatest sounds on this earth. 
  2. Riding a motorcycle through leaf-strewn streets is really fun because the leaves skitter all around you. (Please note: this is not fun if the leaves are damp or remotely wet.)
  3. Someday I’m going to figure out how to combine my research, my love of motorcycles, and earning money into one amazing dream job. Until then, I’ll keep posting random list-type blogs.
  4. The cylinders on the engine are referred to as “jugs.” Go ahead, laugh! I snorted coffee out my nose laughing when I first heard that…because I have the sense of humor of a thirteen-year-old boy. I was hanging out with a bunch of mechanics, and mechanics aren’t always known for classy humor.

    photo credit: Katie Coon

  5. Most bikers have a superstitious streak when it comes to their bikes and riding. I sure do. I have a bell on my motorcycle that belonged to my great-grandmother Masami (to catch the road goblins), and if someone makes a joke or even a comment about a bike wreck I compulsively start knocking on wood.
  6. Unlike in a car, it’s a good thing to ride the clutch when you’re on a motorcycle.
  7. Motorcycles engender families – they can’t help it. My family rides, and when I’m riding with my friends, we’re all family too! Even when you meet up with a bunch of other bikers on the road, there’s a friendly acceptance that can be hard to find in other places.
  8. You only need seven things for a road trip: sunscreen, boots, jeans, t-shirts, bandannas, a tool roll, and lots of coffee. Everything else is basically fluff.
  9. There’s no good reason to put your motorcycle up for the winter! Heated gloves, heated vest liners, heated pants, heated handlegrips, or even just wearing layers…unless there’s snow on the asphalt, keep riding.

As I was riding to work this morning, the temperature was a balmy 48F and I couldn’t stop grinning. The sunrise was gorgeous, the cold air was so invigorating, and my sweet Ginger and I were just skimming along the highway. I felt like I might come untethered and just kind of float on forever – such serenity in that feeling.

Love, peace, and safe riding,
Sumiko

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Demi --"A dedicated Reader"

     /  November 7, 2012

    Sumiko, can you please write a blog and possibly do some research on ways to cope with neighbors when it comes to your motorcycles! And possibly include in there ways to keep your motorcycle quiet at 4:30am when you are rolling off to work… Thank you in advance!

    Reply
  1. Motorcycles and Neighbors « smorgasbord

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 467 other followers

  • History

  • Books

    Currently Reading

    About Time: Cosmology and Culture at the Twilight of the Big Bang (Adam Frank)

    Reflections (Walter Benjamin)

    The Second Sex (Simone de Beauvoir)

    Recently Read

    Life of Pi

    The Memory Keeper's Daughter

    Joseph Anton (Salman Rushdie)

    Rape on Trial (Lisa Cuklanz)

    Atlas of Unknowns (Tania James)

    Dog Sense (John Bradshaw)

    Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (Seth Grahame-Smith)

    The Space Between Us (Thrity Umrigar)

    A Thousand Splendid Suns (Khaled Hosseini)

    The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay (Suzanne Collins)

    The Chosen (Chaim Potok)

    The Help (Kathryn Stockett)

    Devil in the White City (Erik Larson)

  • Bookshelf

