Auditory Joyfulness

I know you’re excited…here’s another list! YAY, LISTS!

Or “yay, Liszt?” Either way, really.

These are things that I get really happy whenever I hear.

  1. My beloved playing video games with his childhood best friend. They both revert to completely gleeful, over-bubbling, giddy kids in the space of the game. Hearing him laugh with his entire being makes me so happy.
  2. My dog’s funny, distinct noises. I can tell when he’s throwing a toy up in the air and catching it, or when he’s wiggling on his back on a (freshly vacuumed, damn him) carpet. His tags jingle in different ways and his paws have certain patterns hitting the floor. I love hearing those things.
  3. Good exhaust sounds from motorcycles. (Kind of inevitable.) That’s kind of a paradoxical exuberant, Zen feeling for me. Motorcycles are definitely my happy place.
  4. Cicadas. Reminds me of miserably hot, humid August nights when I was growing up in Massachusetts, and even though the weather totally sucked, I loved the sound of cicadas.
  5. Choral music. Bonus points for good a capella choral music. I just can’t help it. I’m a voice person through and through.
  6. Aspen trees rustling in an otherwise still valley. Oh my goodness. Aspen trees always get me, man. I’m convinced that if Rivendell were on this earth instead of Middle Earth, it would be located in a valley in the Kolob Canyons section of Zion National Park, in a riverbottom lined with aspen and draped in the most dramatic shades of red I’ve ever seen. The elves would totally love it there.
  7. Pens gliding across good paper. I’m old school like that. It’s just not the same as the incessant clicking of keyboards.
  8. The crinkling, crunching sound that a loaf of fresh bread makes when you squeeze it ever so gently. It’s an amazing, tantalizing, happy sound.
  9. Coffee in a percolator. Or espresso in my little Bialetti pot. They make this fizzy, bubbly, steamy sound that is a delight to my ears.

And there you have it. Noises and sounds that make me happy. What do you like to hear?

Love, peace, and happy ears,
Sumiko

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 479 other followers

  • History

  • Books

    Currently Reading

    About Time: Cosmology and Culture at the Twilight of the Big Bang (Adam Frank)

    Reflections (Walter Benjamin)

    The Second Sex (Simone de Beauvoir)

    Recently Read

    Life of Pi

    The Memory Keeper's Daughter

    Joseph Anton (Salman Rushdie)

    Rape on Trial (Lisa Cuklanz)

    Atlas of Unknowns (Tania James)

    Dog Sense (John Bradshaw)

    Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (Seth Grahame-Smith)

    The Space Between Us (Thrity Umrigar)

    A Thousand Splendid Suns (Khaled Hosseini)

    The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay (Suzanne Collins)

    The Chosen (Chaim Potok)

    The Help (Kathryn Stockett)

    Devil in the White City (Erik Larson)

  • Bookshelf

