An Outburst of Gratitude

IMAG0059

Today I rode my motorcycle (my dearest Ginger!) to work. I do this a fair bit in the summer, because (1) I can’t resist, and (2) it’s summer, and (3) it’s a motorcycle. Usually when I ride to work, there’s a fair amount of traffic-related stress, which is to be expected. I’m not complaining; I’d rather be on a motorcycle than in a car, but most drivers don’t really know how to behave around motorcycles and that’s just how it is right now.

I was leaving the University of Utah right at rush hour. It was 100 degrees outside, and shadows of heat shimmered on the asphalt as they rose in waves from Ginger’s engine. On 800 South, the pavement is riddled with tar snakes, mushy from the day-long sun and a little squirrelly for a motorcycle. Usually when I take that route home, there’s someone tailgating me all the way down to the freeway. There are stoplights every block, and it’s a steep hill. I watch my mirrors and my back tenses as cars hit their brakes far too close for comfort, coming to a halt barely in time.

Today, however, a white car pulled up behind me on 1300 East, right before I turned down 800 South. Preparing for the usual behavior, I gripped the throttle a little bit tighter, but the usual behavior didn’t come. At every block, I checked my mirrors and watched as this car stopped with plenty of space, and didn’t tailgate me as I pulled away when the light turned green. All the way down to the freeway – and then – onto the freeway! For a solid 8 miles, the same car was behind me, and the driver did not get too close, not even once.

So, to whomever was driving the white late-model Kia Optima, license plate C41 5EP, THANK YOU. You may not have realized this, but your courtesy on the road today was accepted with surprise and much gratitude. Heck, you might not have really even noticed me on my motorcycle, but I want to tell you how much I appreciated your kindness.

Love, peace, and courteous driving,
Sumiko

 

 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Not all people in cages are bad…

    Reply
  2. Diane Tadehara

     /  July 18, 2013

    With drivers like that on the road, just how am I supposed to be Mad Mama Max out there on our road trips???

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 467 other followers

  • History

  • Books

    Currently Reading

    About Time: Cosmology and Culture at the Twilight of the Big Bang (Adam Frank)

    Reflections (Walter Benjamin)

    The Second Sex (Simone de Beauvoir)

    Recently Read

    Life of Pi

    The Memory Keeper's Daughter

    Joseph Anton (Salman Rushdie)

    Rape on Trial (Lisa Cuklanz)

    Atlas of Unknowns (Tania James)

    Dog Sense (John Bradshaw)

    Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (Seth Grahame-Smith)

    The Space Between Us (Thrity Umrigar)

    A Thousand Splendid Suns (Khaled Hosseini)

    The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay (Suzanne Collins)

    The Chosen (Chaim Potok)

    The Help (Kathryn Stockett)

    Devil in the White City (Erik Larson)

  • Bookshelf

