Sewing is the Best Procrastination

You know that feeling you get when you have to do something, and you willfully decide to do something else instead? That giddy, delicious feeling of intentional disobedience to the dictates of society? In the last year or so I’ve discovered that sewing is the thing that I turn to when my brain says, “NOPE!” to whatever I’m supposed to be doing (ahem: grad school).

I started sewing haphazardly and cheerfully sans patterns a couple of years ago, mainly for the fun of it. The rest of my life (ahem: grad school; ahem: work) involves lots and lots of labor with very little immediate payoff. Sewing offered a form of labor through which I could immediately see the progress of my work. VERY SATISFYING! Then, a few months ago, I discovered sewing bloggers and indie pattern designers through Instagram, of all places – delightful little nooks on the interwebz like Oonaballoona, Cashmerette, Idle Fancy, Lladybird, and about a zillion more! After enviously stalking their blogs for a few weeks, I gathered up the courage to try my hand at sewing for reals – with patterns and everything!

As it turns out – patterns aren’t so scary. Also, they keep me from wasting quite a lot of fabric, and since I don’t particularly like wasting things, I have totally come around!

After some attempts at simple tank top blouses (which get quite a lot of wear), I decided to go for something more ambitious and bought Cashmerette’s Upton Dress pattern. Being impatient as I am, I went for the PDF version…70 pages of pattern assembly later, I was feeling appropriately humbled.

I wore this Upton dress as a bridesmaid in my friend Kim’s wedding! Since the main fabric is eyelet lace (procured from a really fantastic local SLC fabric shop, Tissu!), the entire thing is lined in a very lightweight black linen/rayon blend rather than just the bodice, as the pattern says. By the time I was finished with all that black thread and black fabric, my eyes were nearly crossed!

received_10153770033842507

This is fairly classic – as soon as a camera is pointed at me, I either close my eyes or start making silly faces. This pattern did fit right out of the metaphorical envelope, though! The only modification I think I might make is to narrow the back shoulders a bit – there is some gaping on the back neckline, as you can see below.

received_10153770034717507

Observe the twirly skirt! All the twirls! (Also the burn on my leg from my motorcycle’s exhaust pipes. First burn in a decade of riding. Grrrr.)

received_10153770033437507

Forgive the gratuitous rear-end photo (and the dust and little floaty lint thingies that stick to this dress like magic), but this is the second time I have ever sewn an invisible zipper and I am very proud of how nicely it lined up. Also, the fit-and-flare silhouette is insanely flattering. Every time I’ve worn this dress, strangers on the street have stopped me to say how much they like it. #winning!

received_10153770034642507

But I think my very favoritest part of this whole dress is the fact that I shamelessly cheated on the hem. I DETEST sewing hems. So fiddly, so annoying, so time consuming when all I want to do is put on my new clothes and prance around like a drunken unicorn…so I skipped the hem! Instead, I cut off the scalloped eyelet lace edge of the fabric and attached strips of that to the bottom of each of the seven gored skirt panels. I think this is my new favorite trick!

So, in summary: sewing is the best procrastination.

Love, peace, and #Uptondresses,
Sumiko

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I am so glad I can do my part in helping you procrastinate 🙂

    Reply
    • I’m quite glad you gave me an excuse to do so. This really is one of my favorite dresses – I end up wearing it almost every week!

      Reply
  2. Mary Danielson Perry

     /  August 2, 2016

    This dress looks so gorgeous on you, Sumiko! Also, that fabric is just fabulous. Love, love, love it!

    Reply
  3. Marianne

     /  August 2, 2016

    Very pretty! Lovely fabric and your zipper is awesome!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 467 other followers

  • History

  • Books

    Currently Reading

    About Time: Cosmology and Culture at the Twilight of the Big Bang (Adam Frank)

    Reflections (Walter Benjamin)

    The Second Sex (Simone de Beauvoir)

    Recently Read

    Life of Pi

    The Memory Keeper's Daughter

    Joseph Anton (Salman Rushdie)

    Rape on Trial (Lisa Cuklanz)

    Atlas of Unknowns (Tania James)

    Dog Sense (John Bradshaw)

    Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (Seth Grahame-Smith)

    The Space Between Us (Thrity Umrigar)

    A Thousand Splendid Suns (Khaled Hosseini)

    The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay (Suzanne Collins)

    The Chosen (Chaim Potok)

    The Help (Kathryn Stockett)

    Devil in the White City (Erik Larson)

  • Bookshelf

